Departments and Programs

The Faculty of Arts at Saint Mary's is home to 11 academic departments, the widest selection of humanities and social science disciplines in the Maritimes, and a unique range of interdisciplinary programs and certificate options.

Academic Departments

Anthropology Philosophy
Criminology Political Science
English Language & Literature The Study of Religion
Geography & Environmental Studies Social Justice & Community Studies
History Sociology
Modern Languages & Classics  


Interdisciplinary Programs

Asian Studies Irish Studies
Atlantic Canada Studies Latin American Studies
Intercultural Studies Linguistics
International Development Studies Women and Gender Studies

More options for Arts students

The Bachelor of Environmental Studies (BES) degree is available from the Faculty of Arts, through the School of the Environment. Students can also pursue a Bachelor of Arts with a major in Psychology, through the Department of Psychology in the Faculty of Science.

Areas of Study

Anthropology Applied History
Asian Studies  British Studies
Atlantic Canada Studies Chinese Studies
Classics Creative Writing
Criminology Culture, Race and Resistance in Literature
Economics Dramatic Literature
English English Language 
Entrepreneurship Film Studies
French German Studies 
Geography Global Environmental Politics 
History Indigenous Studies
Intercultural Studies Japanese Studies 
International Development Studies  Latin American Studies 
Irish Studies  Peace and Conflict Studies 
Linguistics Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies (new in 2021) 
Political Science  
Religious Studies  
Social Justice and Community Studies  
Spanish and Hispanic Culture  

Quick Links

Share: Page Feedback