Economics Department

Economists are central players in setting government policy — from social programs to economic development. In the private sector, they contribute to market research for new products, evaluate the impact of mergers, and assess tax policy. If you’re interested in human resources, the environment, international development, international financial markets, or money and banking, you might consider a major in Economics.

For course overrides, see the secretary in SB302.

Learn more about majoring in Economics or Honours Economics (BComm or BA)

Learn more about the Master of Applied Economics

Department Chair
Mark Raymond, PhD

Department Secretary
Bernadine M. Halliday

T 902-420-5671
F 902-420-5129
Sobey Building SB302
Economics@smu.ca
bernadine.halliday@smu.ca

Economics Faculty

Ather Akbari

Economics
Professor
Chair, Atlantic Research Group on Economics of Immigration, Aging and Diversity
Phone: 902-420-5670
Email: ather.akbari@smu.ca
SMU CV


Sal AmirKhalkhali

Economics
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5672
Email: sal.amirkhalkhali@smu.ca
SMU CV


Pyare Arya

Economics
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5679
Email: pyare.arya@smu.ca
SMU CV


Yigit Aydede

Economics
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5673
Email: yigit.aydede@smu.ca
SMU CV


Atul Dar

Economics
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5674
Email: atul.dar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Maryam Dilmaghani

Economics
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-8651
Email: maryam.dilmaghani@smu.ca
SMU CV


Martha MacDonald

Economics
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5678
Email: martha.macdonald@smu.ca
SMU CV


Joniada Milla

Economics
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5616
Email: joniada.milla@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Sonja Novkovic

Economics
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5607
Email: s.novkovic@smu.ca
SMU CV


Mark Raymond

Economics
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5675
Email: mark.raymond@smu.ca
SMU CV


Marie-Claire Robitaille-Blanchet

Economics
Phone: 902 420-5677
Email: MarieClaire.Robitaille@smu.ca
SMU CV


Bidyut Talukdar

Economics
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-496-8164
Email: bidyut.talukdar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Andy Harvey

Economics
Professor Emeritus
Email: Andrew.Harvey@smu.ca


There is a Sobey Economics Society for students. For more information about student societies, check with the Saint Mary’s University Students Association.