Young Alumni of the Year Award

Young Alumni of the Year Award

If you have graduated in the last 10 years, you may be eligible to receive the Saint Mary’s Young Alumni Award.

This distinction is presented to young alumni who display outstanding achievements that may have earned them regional, national or international recognition through:  service to humanity, their profession, volunteerism or community service, the advancement of knowledge, or service to Saint Mary's University.

This award is granted to Saint Mary's University alumni within 10 years of receiving a bachelor's degree or within five years of receiving a graduate degree. A maximum of three candidates per year will be granted the young alumni award.

Selection candidates are considered annually by the Saint Mary's University Alumni Association's Awards & Nomination Committee.


The deadline to nominate a candidate for the 2024 Young Alumni of the Year Award is September 20, 2024.

Nomination Form

2023 Recipients

Mary Navas BComm'20

Mary Navas

As a proud Honduran immigrant and now Haligonian, Mary Navas is a motivated and dedicated professional based in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with a strong commitment to community development. She possesses a diverse skill set, including event planning, communications, marketing, and management, which she has honed through various roles.  

As the Owner and CEO of Macaw Marketing and Events, Mary conducts market research, develops comprehensive marketing strategies, and excels in event management, delivering high client satisfaction. Her experience as a Marketing Associate at NATIONAL Public Relations showcases her collaborative and strategic abilities.  

Mary's past leadership as the President & CEO of the Saint Mary’s University Students’ Association demonstrates her prowess in youth advocacy, and governance.  

Since graduating from Saint Mary’s in 2020, Mary has remained engaged in many ways including serving on the Board of Governors, mentoring students or speaking at events. She also serves on other boards and committees including the YMCA of Greater Halifax Dartmouth and has received awards for her significant contributions to organizations and her community. 

Mary's dedication and passion for making a positive impact shine through in her impressive career and volunteer work.

Corey Mattie BComm'16

Corey Mattie

Settler from Kjipuktuk with historic Mi’kmaw ancestry, a member of the Indigenous Professional Association of Canada, and co-founder of Indigenous Treaty Partners - Corey Mattie has always been involved with supporting Canadians through complex topics. As a professional keynote speaker to international audiences, including the G7 Research Summit, United Nations Canada, and Parliament Hill—Corey strongly advocates for the importance of environmental enhancement, social responsibility, and ethical business practices. A local from Mi’kma’ki (Atlantic Canada), Corey strongly values adopting Indigenous practice and a triple bottom line for corporate Canada. 
Corey graduated from Saint Mary’s University in 2016 with a Bachelor of Commerce, earned a Certificate in ISO Management from the University of Toronto and Ryerson, a Certificate from the Foundation for Environmental Stewardship, a LEED Accreditation and Antiracism training from both the Human Rights Commission and InterActivist. Corey is well-rounded in various aspects of the Canadian economic industry and ethical management.  
Corey and Indigenous Treaty Partners also support the success of Indigenous youth and communities through the creation of the L’nu Scholarship Funds. Corey’s commitment to the community, his passion for environmental enhancement, social responsibility, and ethical business practices is inspiring to alumni worldwide.  

Past Recipients 

  • 2022: Micah Brown BA’13, Dillon Ross BComm’17 and Ossama Nasrallah BComm'18 MBA'22
  • 2021: Reha Purdasy BSc’19 & Timi Idris MA’19
  • 2020: Ying (Wendy) Wang BComm’16 & Dave Culligan BComm’16
  • 2019: Dr. Henry Annan BSc'14 & Sylvia Gawad BSc'14
  • 2018: Michael Brown BComm'14
  • 2017: Harry Ezenibe BA'14
  • 2016: Erica Sosnowski EMBA'15
  • 2015: Heather MacDonald & Jeff Mitchell
  • 2014: Chanda Chilanga and Beth Hamilton
  • 2013: Scott Noddin
  • 2012: Saeed El Darahali
  • 2011: Jacob Deng and Jeff Lohnes
  • 2010: Khalid Waleed Alkhudair
  • 2009: Jeff Britton
  • 2009: Jennifer Walker