Distinguished Community Service Award

Distinguished Community Service Award

The Distinguished Community Service Award is presented to a member of the Saint Mary's University Alumni Association who has made an outstanding contribution to their community and or to Saint Mary’s.

All University employees and members of the Saint Mary's University Alumni Association may submit a one-page letter of recommendation for a candidate, illustrating their suitability for this award. A completed Alumni Awards Nomination Form must accompany the letter.   

Selection Candidates are considered annually by the Saint Mary's University Alumni Association's Awards & Nomination Committee.

TimelineThe deadline to nominate a candidate for the 2021 Distinguished Community Service Award is August 27, 2021. 


2020 Recipient Senator Wilfred P. Moore QC BComm’64 LLD’07

Senator Moore, a current resident of Chester, was born in Halifax and graduated with a Commerce degree in 1964 and went on to study law at Dalhousie University. He received his Queen’s Counsel and honorary degrees from Saint Mary’s and NSCAD. Prior to being appointed to the Senate in 1996, Senator Moore was involved in municipal politics, serving as a municipal councillor and as Deputy Mayor in the late 70’s. He also served on the Saint Mary’s Board of Governors for 10 years and in the Royal Canadian Air Force. 

Appointed to the Senate of Canada by the Right Honourable Jean Chrétien, Senator Moore represented the Province of Nova Scotia, under the designation of Stanhope St. / South Shore. He served in the Senate until his retirement in 2017. During this time Senator Moore chaired the Canada – USA Inter-Parliamentary Group (Canadian Section) and the Art Advisory Working Group of the Senate of Canada. He also served on many Senate committees, too numerous to mention, ranging from Constitutional Affairs to Aboriginal Peoples. Senator Moore spearheaded the establishment of the NSCAD University and Town of Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Residence/Studio Program for graduate students in 2006. In 2013, he led the founding of the Lunenburg School of the Arts to which he currently serves as Volunteer Chair.  

In December, 2015, Senator Moore introduced Bill S-203 (End the Captivity of Whales and Dolphins). Following the longest legislative battle in the history of Canada (17 hearings, more then 40 witnesses), this Bill received Royal Assent and became law on June 21, 2019. In October, 2017, the Government of Bermuda appointed Senator Moore a Commissioner of the Sargasso Sea Commission where he continues to serve as a Commissioner. His book, entitled For the Record, was published in 2018. It contains the Senator’s Statements made by him during his service in the Senate and an explanation of that part of the daily agenda of the Senate.  

Senator Moore continues to keep a law office in Lunenburg and when he is not working or volunteering he spends time with his wife, Jane Adams Ritcey and their two children, Nicholas and Alexandra, and is enjoying their newest grandbaby, Willa, born in June of this year  


Past Recipients 

  • 2019: Karen Oldfield, QC BA'82
  • 2018: James "Skip" Oliver BA'67 LLD'02
  • 2017: Dr. Michael Durland BComm'87 DComm'15 and Catherine Durland BComm'87
  • 2016: Richard Butler BA'69 and Marsha Sobey BEd'82
  • 2015: Cassandra Dorrington and Gerald Walsh
  • 2014: Tom Lee and Claire Miller
  • 2013: Jane Roy
  • 2012: Scott Norton, Fred George and Alex Handyside
  • 2011: David McKeage, Dr. Gerald P. Reardon
  • 2010: Dr. John A. P. Sullivan and Fr. George Leach
  • 2009: Judith Richardson and Wendy Brookhouse
  • 2008: Paul J. Dyer
  • 2005: Carol MacLean & Richard H. “Dick” MacLean
  • 2004: George C. Moffatt
  • 2003: Hector P. Muise and Dr. John C. Young
  • 2002: Angela Vecchio-Ozmon and Kevin Cleary
  • 2001: Allister Byrne
  • 2000 Elizabeth Ozmon & Dr. Kenneth L. Ozmon
  • 1999: Burris Devanney and Terence Donahoe
  • 1998: Paul Goodman
  • 1997: Joseph Bishara
  • 1995-96: Terry Kelly
  • 1993-94: Fred MacGillivray
  • 1992: Karen Henderson
  • 1991: J. Philip Vaughan
  • 1990: Ronald Downie
  • 1989: Paul Gouett
  • 1988: Elizabeth Chard
  • 1986: Harold Beazley
  • 1985: Edmund Morris
  • 1984: Senator Richard Donahoe



Share: Page Feedback