Meet the 2021 Student Recipients

Top row (left to right): Rylee Pearl, Adam CulbertIsabella MacKay, Alyssa MacDonald, Arthur (Sandy) Hiltz 
Bottom row (left to right): Mackenzie KearneyBraden Marshall, Finn Kimball, Rahjay Brown, Abigail Duggan

Meet the new Sobey Innovators and Sobey MBA Scholars 

Saint Mary’s University and the Sobey School of Business are proud to announce the newest recipients of the 2021 Sobey National Innovators and Sobey MBA Scholarships. 

The Sobey National Innovator and Sobey MBA Scholarships are presented to exceptional students from across Canada in recognition of their accomplishments, and as encouragement and support for their success at Saint Mary’s Sobey School of Business. This scholarship program will support 150 students over a ten-year period, inspiring the best and brightest graduate and undergraduate business students in the country to come to Saint Mary’s University and the Sobey School of Business. 

The following is a list of the 2021 Sobey National Innovators: 

  • Rahjay Brown 
  • Adam Culbert 
  • Abigail Duggan 
  • Arthur Hiltz 
  • Mackenzie Kearney 
  • Finn Kimball 
  • Alyssa MacDonald 
  • Isabella Mackay 
  • Braden Marshall 
  • Rylee Pearl 

On behalf of all recipients, I would like to thank the Sobey Family, The Sobey Foundation and Sobeys Inc. for this incredible award. It has truly been a gamechanger and has had an immense impact on my family and I already!” says Isabella Mackay. “There is so much to look forward to with all the amazing opportunities that come along with this award.” 

Sobey MBA Scholarship recipients

(Left to right): Kartikey Handa, Liam O’Brien 
The following is a list of the 2021 Sobey MBA Scholars: 

  • Kartikey Handa 
  • Liam O’Brien 

 “A huge thank you and a salute to the Sobey family for this gracious contribution towards building a better, more inclusive, and more sustainable future. It’s because of these benevolent gestures and kind contributions that individuals, both capable and smart, are able to expand their horizons and prepare themselves to better serve the society and the nation at large,” says Kartikey Handa. 
In 2019, Saint Mary’s University announced a historic gift of $18 million from the Sobey Family, The Sobey Foundation and Sobeys Inc. which established this transformative scholarship program as well as investments in entrepreneurship, faculty support, research and new space for the Sobey School of Business. 
“We are pleased to welcome the newest recipients as members of the 2021 cohort of Sobey National Innovators and Sobey MBA Scholars and welcome them to the Sobey School of Business and Saint Mary’s University” says the Sobey School of Business Dean, Dr. Harjeet Bhabra. “We look forward to seeing the impact they make while completing their studies at Saint Mary’s University.” 
These students join last year’s inaugural recipients as members of the Sobey Scholars Network, a special cohort that includes all current and past students, alumni, Chair holders, named Professors and Post-Doctoral Fellows who have been the recipients of philanthropic financial support from the Sobey Family, The Sobey Foundation, Sobeys Inc., and Empire Company Limited. 
“Congratulations to the new Sobey National Innovators and the Sobey MBA Scholarship recipients. This has been a year like no other, and your selection as recipients of these prestigious awards recognizes your hard work, talent and resilience”, says Saint Mary’s University President Dr. Robert Summerby-Murray.  
“We are grateful to the Sobey family, Sobeys Inc. and The Sobey Foundation for your ongoing commitment to student success,” adds President Summerby-Murray. “Together, we are creating a World without limits for our students.” 

Sobeys Leadership Award recipients

Since 2006, the Sobeys Leadership Awards have been supported by the Sobeys Scholarship
Endowment Fund. Five new renewable awards of $4,000 each are distributed annually. If all
returning students meet the award criteria, this could result in 20 awards of $4,000, or $80,000
in total, distributed in a single year. These awards recognize full-time undergraduate students
enrolled in the Sobey School of Business who demonstrate community service leadership,
financial need and satisfactory academic achievement.

Congratulations to our new and returning Sobeys Leadership Award recipients:

  • Hannah McDonald 2021-2022
  • Colton Caballero 2021-2022
  • Rebecca Hill 2021-2022
  • Mia Clarke 2021-2022
  • Abby Russell 2021-2022
  • Sophia Andriopoulos 2020-2022
  • Matthew Hill 2020-2022
  • Matthew Hugh 2020-2022
  • David Song 2020-2022
  • Nhu Gia Trinh 2020-2022
  • Matthew Delano 2019-2022
  • Alina Franzman 2019-2022 
  • Jonah MacEachern 2019-2022
  • Ashlyn Mitchell 2019-2022
  • Justin Chenier 2018-2022
  • Peter Doucette 2018-2022
  • Sophia Hein 2018-2022
  • Xuan Phu 2018-2022

Sobeys Scholar Award recipients

Established in 2007 and supported by the Sobeys Scholarship Endowment Fund, the Sobeys
Scholar Award gives $25,000 to a first-year student to cover all fees related to enrolment as a
full-time commerce student living in residence. Recipients qualify for renewed scholarships
from Saint Mary’s valued this year at $7,000 for each of their second, third and fourth years of
their degrees. Awarded to a graduating high school student from Canada enrolled as a full-time
undergraduate in the Sobey School of Business, recipients demonstrate superior academic
achievement (at least 90% average) and leadership in community service.

Recipients who maintain a GPA of at least 3.0 and remain at the Sobey School of Business may apply to work as summer interns for Sobeys Inc. during the three summers of their undergraduate degrees.

Congratulations to our new and returning Sobeys Scholar Award recipients:

  • Danyka McDonald 2021-2022
  • Teagan Scott 2020-2021
  • Alex Arnold 2019-2020
  • Kelly MacInnis 2018-2019 


Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies Recipient

The Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies is a scholarship program administered by The Sobey Foundation in which Saint Mary's University has the opportunity to endorse one applicant from the Sobey School of Business each year. This scholarship is open to all business students in Atlantic Canada.

2021-2022 Recipient
Congratulations to Laura Eamon, a fifth-year student at the Sobey School of Business who is completing a Bachelor of Commerce, majoring in Economics, on being awarded the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies. Laura is one of only nine recipients of the $35,000 award given to undergraduate students of Business Studies in universities across the Atlantic Provinces.

2020-2021 Recipient
Morgan Baker-Tucker BComm'22

Learn more about the Frank H. Sobey Awards for Excellence in Business Studies here.