Finance, Information Systems, and Management Science

Discover how money is made, invested and managed. A major in Finance will prepare you to understand and reason through a wide spectrum of financial decisions. Finance involves the preparation of financial reports, tax and regulatory requirements, cash flow, management, investment, and development of information.

Over the past few decades, information systems and e-business have transformed the business landscape around the world. The Bachelor of Commerce degree with a major in Computing and Information Systems was designed to respond to industry calls for business-savvy professionals with theoretical and practical understanding of all five information systems components: hardware, software, data, processes, and users.

Management Science courses will equip you with strong quantitative and analytical business skills, important in all areas of business.

 

Course Overrides

Please click here to complete the online form. 

Department Chair
Dr. Francis Boabang, PhD, Chairperson

Department Secretary
Vacant

T 902-420-5724
F 902-496-8101
Sobey Building SB103

Students majoring in Finance may be interested in taking part in the IMPACT program or Venture Grade. There is also a Saint Mary's University Investment Society.
Students are encouraged to watch for opportunities to apply for the CFA Scholarships.

Faculty & Staff

Francis Boabang

Finance
Chair
Professor
902-420-5735
francis.boabang@smu.ca
SMU CV


Ashraf Al Zaman

Finance
902-491-6272
ashraf.zaman@smu.ca
SMU CV


Najah Attig

Finance
Associate Professor
Co-Academic Director, IMPACT Fund
902-491-8679
najah.attig@smu.ca
SMU CV


Harjeet Bhabra

Finance
Dean
902-420-5422
harjeet.bhabra@smu.ca
SMU CV


Tony Charles

Finance
Professor
Senior Research Fellow in Environment and Sustainability
902-420-5732
tony.charles@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Liqiang Chen

Finance
On sabbatical from 09-01-2018 until 31-08-2020
902-491-6465
liqiang.chen@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jie Dai

Finance
Associate Professor
902-420-5269
jie.dai@smu.ca
SMU CV


Paul S. Dixon

Finance
Professor
902-420-5868
paul.dixon@smu.ca
SMU CV


J. Colin Dodds

Finance
Professor
President Emeritus Academic Coordinator, Master of Finance
902-491-6549
colin.dodds@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hamdi Driss

Finance
Assistant Professor
902-420-5042
hamdi.driss@smu.ca
SMU CV


Dawn Jutla

Finance
Professor
Scotiabank Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship
902-491-6441
dawn.jutla@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Kathryn Kimery

Finance
Associate Professor
902-491-8654
k.kimery@smu.ca
SMU CV


Rahman Khokhar

Finance
902-491-6371
rahman.khokhar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Eric Lee

Finance
Professor
902-420-5734
elee@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jia Liu

Finance
Assistant Professor
902-420-5733
jia.liu@smu.ca
SMU CV


Bahareh Mansouri

Finance
Assistant Professor
902-491-6559
bahareh.mansouri@smu.ca
SMU CV


Harvey Millar

Finance
Professor
902-420-5721
harvey.millar@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Mahmoud Moh'd

Finance
Associate Professor
902-420-5568
mahmoud.mohd@smu.ca
SMU CV


Florian Muenkel

Finance
Assistant Professor
902-496-8249
florian.muenkel@smu.ca
SMU CV


Christine Panasian

Finance
Associate Professor
902-420-5726
christine.panasian@smu.ca
SMU CV


Mohammad Rahaman

Finance
Associate Professor
Global Business Studies Program Co-ordinator Canada Research Chair, Finance and International Competitiveness
920-420-5730
mohammad.rahaman@smu.ca
SMU CV


Shyamala C. Sivakumar

Finance
Professor
902-420-5840
ssivakumar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Majid Taghavi

Finance
Assistant Professor
920-496-8744
majid.taghavi@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Zeying (Zoey) Wan

Finance
Assistant Professor
902-496-8721
zeying.wan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hai Wang

Finance
902-496-8231
hai.wang@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Muhong Wang

Finance
Professor


Michael Zhang

Finance
Associate Professor
Acting Associate Dean of Research and Knowledge Mobilization
902-491-8676
michael.zhang@smu.ca
SMU CV