Finance, Information Systems, and Management Science

Discover how money is made, invested and managed. A major in Finance will prepare you to understand and reason through a wide spectrum of financial decisions. Finance involves the preparation of financial reports, tax and regulatory requirements, cash flow, management, investment, and development of information.

Over the past few decades, information systems and e-business have transformed the business landscape around the world. The Bachelor of Commerce degree with a major in Computing and Information Systems was designed to respond to industry calls for business-savvy professionals with theoretical and practical understanding of all five information systems components: hardware, software, data, processes, and users.

Management Science courses will equip you with strong quantitative and analytical business skills, important in all areas of business.

 

Course Overrides

Please click here to complete the online form. 

Department Chair
Dr. Francis Boabang, PhD, Chairperson

Department Secretary
Vacant

T 902-420-5724
F 902-496-8101
Sobey Building SB103

Students majoring in Finance may be interested in taking part in the IMPACT program or Venture Grade. There is also a Saint Mary's University Investment Society.
Students are encouraged to watch for opportunities to apply for the CFA Scholarships.

Faculty & Staff

Francis Boabang

Finance
Chair
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5735
Email: francis.boabang@smu.ca
SMU CV


Ashraf Al Zaman

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6272
Email: ashraf.zaman@smu.ca
SMU CV


Najah Attig

Finance
Associate Professor
Co-Academic Director, IMPACT Fund
Phone: 902-491-8679
Email: najah.attig@smu.ca
SMU CV


Harjeet Bhabra

Finance
Dean
Phone: 902-420-5422
Email: harjeet.bhabra@smu.ca
SMU CV


Tony Charles

Management Science
Professor
Senior Research Fellow in Environment and Sustainability
Phone: 902-420-5732
Email: tony.charles@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Liqiang Chen

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6465
Email: liqiang.chen@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jie Dai

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5269
Email: jie.dai@smu.ca
SMU CV


Paul S. Dixon

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5868
Email: paul.dixon@smu.ca
SMU CV


J. Colin Dodds

Finance
Professor
President Emeritus Academic Coordinator, Master of Finance
Phone: 902-491-6549
Email: colin.dodds@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hamdi Driss

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5042
Email: hamdi.driss@smu.ca
SMU CV


Dawn Jutla

Information Systems
Professor
Scotiabank Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship
Phone: 902-491-6441
Email: dawn.jutla@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Kathryn Kimery

Information Systems
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-8654
Email: k.kimery@smu.ca
SMU CV


Rahman Khokhar

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6371
Email: rahman.khokhar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Eric Lee

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5734
Email: elee@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jia Liu

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5733
Email: jia.liu@smu.ca
SMU CV


Bahareh Mansouri

Management Science
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-491-6559
Email: bahareh.mansouri@smu.ca
SMU CV


Harvey Millar

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5721
Email: harvey.millar@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Mahmoud Moh'd

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5568
Email: mahmoud.mohd@smu.ca
SMU CV


Florian Muenkel

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-496-8249
Email: florian.muenkel@smu.ca
SMU CV


Christine Panasian

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5726
Email: christine.panasian@smu.ca
SMU CV


Mohammad Rahaman

Finance
Associate Professor
Global Business Studies Program Co-ordinator Canada Research Chair, Finance and International Competitiveness Associate Dean, Strategic Partnerships & Community Engagement
Phone: 920-420-5730
Email: mohammad.rahaman@smu.ca
SMU CV

Dr. Rahaman is also the coordinator for http://sobeyschoolprosperitynetwork.com, the Sobey School Community Revitalization & Prosperity Network.


Shyamala C. Sivakumar

Information Systems
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5840
Email: ssivakumar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Majid Taghavi

Management Science
Assistant Professor
Phone: 920-496-8744
Email: majid.taghavi@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Zeying (Zoey) Wan

Information Systems
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-496-8721
Email: zeying.wan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hai Wang

Information Systems
Phone: 902-496-8231
Email: hai.wang@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Michael Zhang

Management Science
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-8676
Email: michael.zhang@smu.ca
SMU CV