Finance, Info Systems & Management Science

Finance, Information Systems, and Management Science

Discover how money is made, invested and managed. A major in Finance will prepare you to understand and reason through a wide spectrum of financial decisions. Finance involves the preparation of financial reports, tax and regulatory requirements, cash flow, management, investment, and development of information.

Over the past few decades, information systems and e-business have transformed the business landscape around the world. The Bachelor of Commerce degree with a major in Computing and Information Systems was designed to respond to industry calls for business-savvy professionals with theoretical and practical understanding of all five information systems components: hardware, software, data, processes, and users.

Management Science courses will equip you with strong quantitative and analytical business skills, important in all areas of business.

  • Learn more about majoring in Finance (BComm)
  • Learn more about majoring in Computing and Information Systems (BComm)

 

Course Overrides

Please click here to complete the online form. 

Department Chair
Dr. Francis Boabang, PhD, Chairperson

Department Secretary
fisms@smu.ca

T 902-420-5724
F 902-496-8101
Sobey Building SB103

Students majoring in Finance may be interested in taking part in the IMPACT program or Venture Grade. There is also a Saint Mary's University Investment Society.
Students are encouraged to watch for opportunities to apply for the CFA Scholarships.

Faculty & Staff

Francis Boabang

Finance
Co-Chair
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5735
Email: francis.boabang@smu.ca


Ashraf Al Zaman

Finance
Co-Chair, Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6272
Email: ashraf.zaman@smu.ca


Najah Attig

Finance
Associate Professor
Co-Academic Director, IMPACT Fund
Phone: 902-491-8679
Email: najah.attig@smu.ca


Harjeet Bhabra

Finance
Dean
Phone: 902-420-5422
Email: harjeet.bhabra@smu.ca


Tony Charles

Management Science
Professor
Senior Research Fellow in Environment and Sustainability
Phone: 902-420-5732
Email: tony.charles@smu.ca

Website


Liqiang Chen

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6465
Email: liqiang.chen@smu.ca


Jie Dai

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5269
Email: jie.dai@smu.ca


Paul S. Dixon

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5868
Email: paul.dixon@smu.ca


J. Colin Dodds

Finance
Professor
President Emeritus Academic Coordinator, Master of Finance
Phone: 902-491-6549
Email: colin.dodds@smu.ca


Hamdi Driss

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5042
Email: hamdi.driss@smu.ca


Davod Hosseini

Management Science
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5630
Office: Office: SB325
Email: Davod.Hosseini@smu.ca


Dawn Jutla

Information Systems
Professor
Scotiabank Professor of Technology Entrepreneurship
Phone: 902-491-6441
Email: dawn.jutla@smu.ca

Website


Kathryn Kimery

Information Systems
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-8654
Email: k.kimery@smu.ca


Rahman Khokhar

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6371
Email: rahman.khokhar@smu.ca


Eric Lee

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5734
Email: elee@smu.ca


Jia Liu

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5733
Email: jia.liu@smu.ca


Bahareh Mansouri

Management Science
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-491-6559
Email: bahareh.mansouri@smu.ca


Nabil El Meslmani

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5664
Office: SB328A
Email: Nabil.Meslmani@smu.ca


Harvey Millar

Management Science
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5721
Email: harvey.millar@smu.ca

Website


Mahmoud Moh'd

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5568
Email: mahmoud.mohd@smu.ca


Florian Muenkel

Finance
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-496-8249
Email: florian.muenkel@smu.ca


Christine Panasian

Finance
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5726
Email: christine.panasian@smu.ca


Mohammad Rahaman

Finance
Associate Professor
Global Business Studies Program Co-ordinator Canada Research Chair, Finance and International Competitiveness Associate Dean, Strategic Partnerships & Community Engagement
Phone: 920-420-5730
Email: mohammad.rahaman@smu.ca

Dr. Rahaman is also the coordinator for http://sobeyschoolprosperitynetwork.com, the Sobey School Community Revitalization & Prosperity Network.


Shyamala C. Sivakumar

Information Systems
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5840
Email: ssivakumar@smu.ca


Majid Taghavi

Management Science
Assistant Professor
Phone: 920-496-8744
Email: majid.taghavi@smu.ca

Website


Zeying (Zoey) Wan

Information Systems
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-496-8721
Email: zeying.wan@smu.ca


Hai Wang

Information Systems
Phone: 902-496-8231
Email: hai.wang@smu.ca

Website


Michael Zhang

Management Science
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-8676
Email: michael.zhang@smu.ca


Share: Page Feedback