Accounting

A career in accounting appeals to students with wide-ranging interests and good communication skills. Ultimately, accounting is about information. Sound management of financial resources can capture not only how a person or organization is doing, but also where they are going. This information is crucial for decision-making in business, government and for non-profit organizations. Learn how to prepare financial and related information, and how to interpret what it means.

Find the Course Override Form for Accounting here.

Learn more about majoring in Accounting

Learn more about the MBA (CPA Stream)

There is a Sobey Accounting Society for students. For more information about student societies, check with the Saint Mary’s University Students Association.

Faculty & Staff

Lawrence Corrigan

Accounting
Co-Chair
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-491-6242
Email: larry.corrigan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jeffrey Power

Accounting
Co-Chair
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5621
Email: jeff.power@smu.ca
SMU CV


Cathy Golden

Accounting
Secretary
Phone: 902-420-5617
Email: accounting@smu.ca


Bruce Anderson

Accounting
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5156
Email: bruce.anderson@smu.ca
SMU CV


Granville Ansong

Accounting
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5618
Email: granville.ansong@smu.ca
SMU CV


Vasiliki Athanasakou

Accounting
Phone: 902-420-5108
Email: V.Athanasakou@smu.ca
SMU CV


David Bateman

Accounting
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5623
Email: david.bateman@smu.ca
SMU CV


Matthew Boland

Accounting
Phone: (902)491-6662
Email: Matthew.Boland@smu.ca
SMU CV


Amna Chalwati

Accounting
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5074
Email: amna.chalwati@smu.ca


Mohamed Drira

Accounting
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5624
Email: mohamed.drira@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hong Fan

Accounting
Associate Professor
On sabbatical from 07-01-2019 until 07-01-2020
Phone: 902-496-8746
Email: hong.fan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Khin Phyo Hlaing

Accounting
Assistant Professor
Phone: 902-420-5622
Email: phyo.hlaing@smu.ca
SMU CV


Natalia Kochetova

Accounting
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5800
Email: Natalia.K@smu.ca
SMU CV


Karen Lightstone

Accounting
Professor
Phone: 902-420-5625
Email: karen.lightstone@smu.ca
SMU CV


Daphne Rixon

Accounting
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-496-8212
Email: daphne.rixon@smu.ca
SMU CV


Heather Sceles

Accounting
Lecturer
Phone: 902-491-6412
Email: heather.sceles@smu.ca


Xiaofei Song

Accounting
Associate Professor
Phone: 902-420-5683
Email: xiaofei.song@smu.ca
SMU CV


G.R. (Dick) Chesley

Accounting
Professor Emeritus


Barry Gorman

Accounting
Professor Emeritus


Nicola M. Young

Accounting
Professor Emeritus