Accounting

A career in accounting appeals to students with wide-ranging interests and good communication skills. Ultimately, accounting is about information. Sound management of financial resources can capture not only how a person or organization is doing, but also where they are going. This information is crucial for decision-making in business, government and for non-profit organizations. Learn how to prepare financial and related information, and how to interpret what it means.

Find the Course Override Form for Accounting here.

Learn more about majoring in Accounting

Learn more about the MBA (CPA Stream)

There is a Sobey Accounting Society for students. For more information about student societies, check with the Saint Mary’s University Students Association.

Faculty & Staff

Lawrence Corrigan

Accounting
Co-Chair
Associate Professor
902-491-6242
larry.corrigan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jeffrey Power

Accounting
Co-Chair
Assistant Professor
902-420-5621
jeff.power@smu.ca
SMU CV


Cathy Golden

Accounting
Secretary
902-420-5617
accounting@smu.ca


Bruce Anderson

Accounting
Professor
902-420-5156
bruce.anderson@smu.ca
SMU CV


Granville Ansong

Accounting
Assistant Professor
902-420-5618
granville.ansong@smu.ca
SMU CV


Vasiliki Athanasakou

Accounting
902-420-5108
V.Athanasakou@smu.ca
SMU CV


David Bateman

Accounting
Associate Professor
902-420-5623
david.bateman@smu.ca
SMU CV


Matthew Boland

Accounting
(902)491-6662
Matthew.Boland@smu.ca
SMU CV


Amna Chalwati

Accounting
Assistant Professor
902-420-5074
amna.chalwati@smu.ca


Mohamed Drira

Accounting
Associate Professor
902-420-5624
mohamed.drira@smu.ca
SMU CV


Hong Fan

Accounting
Associate Professor
On sabbatical from 07-01-2019 until 07-01-2020
902-496-8746
hong.fan@smu.ca
SMU CV


Khin Phyo Hlaing

Accounting
Assistant Professor
902-420-5622
phyo.hlaing@smu.ca
SMU CV


Natalia Kochetova

Accounting
Professor
902-420-5800
Natalia.K@smu.ca
SMU CV


Karen Lightstone

Accounting
Professor
902-420-5625
karen.lightstone@smu.ca
SMU CV


Daphne Rixon

Accounting
Associate Professor
902-496-8212
daphne.rixon@smu.ca
SMU CV


Heather Sceles

Accounting
Lecturer
902-491-6412
heather.sceles@smu.ca


Xiaofei Song

Accounting
Associate Professor
902-420-5683
xiaofei.song@smu.ca
SMU CV


G.R. (Dick) Chesley

Accounting
Professor Emeritus


Barry Gorman

Accounting
Professor Emeritus


Nicola M. Young

Accounting
Professor Emeritus