Contact Us

Contact Us


Dr. Leanna Closson
Dr. Jim Cameron
Co-Chair  Co-Chair 
Research Ethics Board  Research Ethics Board 
McNally South, 313 McNally South, 328



Dr. Mark Fleming
Orshy Torok 
Vice Chair Research Ethics Officer 
Research Ethics Board Office of Human Research Ethics 
McNally South, 302  



Consultation/Initial Review:
Continuing Review:

Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 1-3 pm


2023-2024 REB Committee Membership:

John Boddie Community
Dr. Michele Byers Women and Gender Studies
Dr. Jim Cameron Psychology
Dr. Leanna Closson  Psychology 
Dr. Diane Crocker Criminology
Myles Davidson Psychology
Dr. Maryam Dilmaghani Economics
Dr. Mark Fleming Psychology
Dr. Min-Jung Kwak Geography and Environmental Studies
Theodore Lownie Applied Science
Dr. Hao Lu Management
Prof. Luke MacDonald Engineering
Dr. April Mandrona Art History and Contemporary Culture, NSCAD
Dr. Ron Russell Biology
Dr. Tatjana Takseva English
Orshy Torok Research Ethics
Dr. Megan Walsh Management

The REB accepts requests at any time during regular university business hours. If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Research Ethics for guidance at

Animal Care Committee (SMU ACC):

The SMU ACC ensures that no use of animals for display, teaching, research or testing is commenced without prior SMU ACC approval for a written animal use protocol and that all uses of animals for research or testing have been found through independent peer review to have scientific merit and that all uses of animals for display or teaching have been found through independent peer review to have pedagogical merit.  In its work, the SMU ACC abides by the regulations and guidelines of the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC).

For further information, contact  or visit the Animal Care Committee website. 

Saint Mary's University Campus Map

Contact us

Office of Research Ethics
Mailing address:
Office of Research Ethics 923 Robie Street, Atrium 202 Halifax, NS, B3H-3C3