Management Department

Management is a multidisciplinary field in which managers use accounting, information technology, economics, human resource management, marketing, and finance skills to organize, plan, form policies, lead and direct operations. To be successful in this field, strong communication skills are a must, and will be developed throughout your studies.

Scroll down for a list of faculty

Learn more about majoring in Management

Whether you see yourself starting your own business or finding a great career, the Entrepreneurship program will give you the skills and knowledge you need to make your mark. Saint Mary’s provides an exciting opportunity for you to run your own business while attending university — a unique and gratifying experience.

Learn more about majoring in Entrepreneurship

Learn how to determine an organization’s human resource needs and guide others through the demands of economic and societal changes with a major in Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations. You can choose this major within the Bachelor of Commerce program at the Sobey School of Business. Successful completion of the major also fulfills the requirements for a Certificate in Human Resource Management.

Learn more about majoring in, or taking the certificate in, Human Resource Management

Student Forms and Information

Closed Course and Prerequisite Overrides

There is a Sobey Human Resources Society for students. For more information about student societies, check with the Saint Mary’s University Students Association.

Masters' Programs

Learn more about the Master of Management, Co-operatives and Credit Unions and other Co-operative Management Education programs

Learn more about the Master of Technology Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Learn more about the PhD (Business Administration) in Management

Acting Chair
David Wicks, PhD

Department Secretary
Sandra L. Fougere

T 902-420-5781
F 902-420-5119
Sobey Building 245

 

Faculty & Staff

David Wicks, PhD

Management
Professor
Chair
Phone: (902) 420-5804
Email: david.wicks@smu.ca
SMU CV


Ibrahim Abdellah, PhD

Management
Assistant Professor
Email: Ibrahim.Abdellah@smu.ca
SMU CV


Patricia Bradshaw, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 491-6609
Email: patricia.bradshaw@smu.ca
SMU CV


Wendy Carroll, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Executive MBA/EDBA Coordinator
Phone: (902) 491-8652
Email: wendy.carroll@smu.ca
SMU CV


Claudia De Fuentes, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5851
Email: Claudia.DeFuentes@smu.ca
SMU CV


Nicholous Deal

Management
Part-time Instructor
Email: Nicholous.Deal@smu.ca


Cathy Driscoll, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5282
Email: cathy.driscoll@smu.ca
SMU CV


Ellen Farrell, PhD

Management
Professor
MTEI Program Co-Coordinator Venture Grade Coordinator
Phone: (902) 420-5693
Email: ellen.farrell@smu.ca
SMU CV


Jean Helms Mills, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 496-8139
Email: jean.mills@smu.ca
SMU CV


Chantal Hervieux, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Director, Centre for Leadership Excellence
Phone: (902) 414-6493
Email: Chantal.Hervieux@smu.ca
SMU CV


Feng Liu, PhD

Management
Assistant Professor
Phone: (902) 491-6357
Email: feng.liu@smu.ca
SMU CV


Xiaoyu Liu

Management
Assistant Professor
Phone: (902) 496-8730
Email: Xiaoyu.Liu@smu.ca
SMU CV


Catherine Loughlin, PhD

Management
Professor
Associate Dean Research and Knowledge Mobilization
Phone: (902) 491-6328
Email: Catherine.Loughlin@smu.ca
SMU CV


Margaret McKee, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Undergraduate and Professional Graduate Programs
Phone: (902) 491-8613
Email: Margaret.McKee@smu.ca
SMU CV


Albert Mills, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5778
Email: albert.mills@smu.ca
SMU CV


James O'Brien, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Phone: (902) 496-8770
Email: j.obrien@smu.ca
SMU CV


Firat Sayin, PhD

Management
Assistant Professor
Phone: (902) 496-8730
Email: firat.sayin@smu.ca
SMU CV


Russel Summers, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5774
Email: Russel.Summers@smu.ca
SMU CV


Vurain Tabvuma, PhD

Management
Associate Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5082
Email: Vurain.Tabvuma@smu.ca
SMU CV


Mahdi Tajeddin, PhD

Management
Assistant Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5423
Email: Mahdi.Tajeddin@smu.ca
SMU CV


Terry Wagar, PhD

Management
Professor
Phone: (902) 420-5770
Email: terry.wagar@smu.ca
SMU CV