Employee Onboarding

Your HR Team

This is your Human Resources team:

Kim Squires, Senior Director, Human Resources

Kim plans, organizes, directs and controls the operation of Human Resources at the University. Kim acts as a resource to the University community and plays a key role in the evolution of the HR strategy for the University.

email: kim.squires@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5446

 

Sheree Delaney, HR Officer (Benefits, Pension & Compensation)

Sheree is your contact for employee benefit and pension, and faculty pension related matters. Sheree administers the University's employee benefits and pension plans; and coordinates job analysis and classification programs.

email: sheree.delaney@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5044

 

Jennifer White, HR Officer (Staffing, Labour and Equity)

Jennifer coordinates internal and external recruitment, assists in labour/employee relations and participates in the collective bargaining process.

email: jen.white@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5563

 

Kennedy Fitzgerald, HR Officer (Labour Relations)

Kennedy provides advice and services in support of all collective agreements on campus, with a primary focus on fulltime faculty, professional librarians and part time faculty. Kennedy is also member of the bargaining team.

email: kennedy.fitzgerald@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5881

 

Valerie Wadman, HR Officer (OH&S and Wellness)

Valerie is your main contact regarding all matters relevant to Occupational Health & Safety and Wellness. Valerie is a representative of the Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee and Sub-committees.

email: valerie.wadman@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5658

 

Bridget Brownlow, Conflict Resolution Advisor

Bridget works with faculty, staff and students to create an academic, working and living environment that is respectful of all members of the University community that is free of harassment (including sexual harassment) and discrimination.

email: bridget.brownlow@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5113

 

Jennifer Harbin, Human Resources Assistant

Jen is your first point of contact within the Human Resources Department for questions regarding vacation/sick entitlement and HR policies/procedures.

email: hr@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5564

 

Tricia MacPhee, Supervisor, Payroll & HRIS

Tricia produces various remittances, reconciliations and reports. Tricia manages year-end processes, and is the lead for ongoing development, testing and implementation of Banner HR/Payroll system enhancements.

email: tricia.macphee@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5460

 

Melissa Mullins & Donna Bevis, Payroll Administrators

Your first point of contact within the Payroll Department for questions regarding pay. The payroll department prepares Full-Time/Part-Time/Casual/Student payroll for a population over 2000.

email: melissa.mullins1@smu.ca

tel: 902-420-5471

email: donna.bevis@smu.ca

tel: 902-491-6223