Alumni Association

The Alumni Association strives to keep alumni connected with events, programs, and benefits. Activities of the Alumni Association are supported by our Affinity Partners TD Insurance and Manulife.

The Alumni Council is comprised of a group of volunteers who consult with the Alumni office on events and programs for students and alumni. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Alumni Council, please submit a cover letter and resume to the Alumni office (

New Council members will be elected in September. Members of the Alumni Council are expected to attend six meetings per year including the Annual General Meeting, sit on at least one committee (Engagement, Homecoming, Awards & Nominations, Golf Tournament), attend alumni events, and be an ambassador to Saint Mary’s University in the community.

Executive Members

Scott McElman 

Scott McElman



Collette Robert
BSc'15 MSc'19
Vice President


Bafana Mashingaidze
BSC'14, MBA'16

Members at Large


Fiona King

  Tariro Dheka

Kelsey Baker

Kaitlyn Touesnard

Jason Mullen  Jason Mullen

  Tom O'Handley
BComm'02, MBA'15

Abhishek Bhuchar

Franklyn Southwell
SMUSA representative

Elora Gehue

Sarah Cameron


Zach MacMillan

Michael Mercer
BA'10 MA'16 

Sylvia Gawad

Mitch Harrison

Lazaro Castaneda



Young Alumni Committee

The Young Alumni Committee plans events for Young Alumni (#SMUYA) who have graduated within the past five years and/or are under 30 years of age. Alumni can apply to join the committee by submitting a letter of intent and resume to Emily in the Alumni Office ( by August 10, 2018.

Members of the Young Alumni Committee are expected to attend 6-8 Committee meetings per year and attend events as YA representatives throughout the year.

Co-Chair Internal: Abhishek Bhucar BComm'16

Co-Chair External: Wendy Wang BComm'16

Sahil Ahuja BComm'17

Lee Bennett BSc'16

Raihan Chowdhury BComm'16

Elora Gehue BA'17

Sydney Hull BA'17

Claudia Covalciuc BA'13

Sylvia Gawad BSc'14

Simon Gordon BComm, BA, CertHRM'18

Giovanna Pariyo BComm'18

Nishka Rajesh BA'19

Sk Mahumudur Shovon BComm'19

Sehmat(Semi) Suri BA, BComm'19

Andrea Daly BComm'15

Jocelyn Lambier BA'20


Share: Page Feedback