Graduate Students

Colleen McCarthy 

My name is Colleen McCarthy, I am from Dartmouth Nova Scotia. As a little kid my interests and career dreams changed pretty much monthly; but I always knew that I wanted to go to university and wanted to learn as much as I could. Limiting myself to one area was very difficult, but my interest in law, society, and human behaviour overpowered all other aspirations. Growing up I participated in sports and earned my second-degree black belt in Taekwondo. Now I love to hike with my border-collie fletcher, and I continue my love of learning by reading constantly. I graduated with an honours in Criminology and a minor in psychology in 2021, from Saint Mary’s University here in Halifax.

RESEARCH  

My master’s research has evolved from my honours thesis. I have a deep interest in learning about online hate and cruelty. Over the summer (2021), the Plymouth mass shooting occurred. The shooter was involved in the involuntary celibate (incel) movement.

My Master’s thesis supervisor is Dr. Rachael Collins. We will be looking at online hate groups and movements such as incels, and the progression to offline violence. I think this research is important for many reasons. Foremost, this research is so relevant to the current political and social culture. Secondly, online hate is not simply an isolated group on social media, rather that hate spreads into the fabric of society and hurts democracy and its citizens.

RESEARCH EXPERIENCE

My interest in research has stemmed from completing an honours thesis, and being a research assistant on an Interdisciplinary SSHRC New Frontiers in Research Fund, titled “Supporting Youth with Mental Health Conditions using Machine Learning Analytics.” Dr. Michael Zhang (PI)…. From September 2020 until August 2021.


Megan Fram 

My name is Megan Fram. I am from Moncton, New Brunswick. I have been interested in Criminology for a long time and getting to take it in university strengthened my interest and created an interest in research, particularly around violence against women. Outside of school my hobbies include reading, rewatching my favourite tv shows/movies, playing field hockey doing puzzles, and taking care of my plants.

EDUCATION

I graduated with an honours in Criminology, a major in Sociology and a minor in Human Rights in 2021, from St. Thomas University in Fredericton, New Brunswick. My honours thesis looked at the non-consensual sharing of intimate images. I completed a judicial discourse analysis of “revenge porn” cases, looking for evidence of gendered language and victim-blaming through rape myths and techniques of neutralization.

RESEARCH

My master’s research supervised by Dr. Diane Crocker, is looking at how the problem of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG) is being framed. This research stems from my civilian curiosity of why so many people still do not know about this injustice. I only found out about MMIWG during a lecture from Dr. Pam Palmater In 2017 at St. Thomas University. Not knowing about this injustice previously despite it having been going on long before made me really interested in researching this topic and learning more about why it does not always receive the attention it deserves. I think this is an important topic that everyone should be aware of. I hope my research can help with this.


Katianne Lima

My name is Katianne Lima. I’m Brazilian, married and I have a son. I like to travel, hang out with my family and friends, and watch movies and series on the most diverse topics, from criminal investigation to home renovation.

EDUCATION

I have two undergraduate degrees, one in Law (Natal, Brazil, 2006) and the other in English Language and Literatures (Natal, Brazil, 2007), and I also hold a graduate specialization certificate in Public Law (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 2007).

RESEARCH

My thesis is about domestic homicide in Canada related to immigrant and refugee population. I always wanted to work on something related to domestic violence, a topic that I had already addressed to graduate in Law program. Thus, my supervisor suggested this area of research because, although I am not an immigrant, I am a foreigner and for that reason I have an outsider's (non-Canadian) view on this issue. When I started to study the subject, I was impressed with the particularities and challenges of this part of the population in Canada, often forgotten and neglected. I embraced the topic and would very much like my research to serve to help, in some way, in the prevention of this crime of such critical proportions.
Name of supervisor: Dr. Diane Crocker.
I have been a public servant in Brazil for 10 years and I work in the labor court as a legal advisor. However, Criminology has always been an old passion that I never stopped thinking about since my undergraduate. Being able to be currently pursuing a Masters in Criminology at SMU is definitely a dream come true.


Kala Rafuse

My name is Kala Rafuse, I am from West Chezzetcook, Nova Scotia 

My research interests include sexual offending, human rights, empowerment, and clinical interventions. My research aims to explore clinician competency and biases in working with folks who identify as having sexual interest in children. I have a Bachelor of Arts from SMU in Sociology & Criminology, a Bachelor of Social Work from St. Thomas University, and a Master of Clinical Social Work degree from the University of Calgary. I've worked as a research assistant for a number of years on topics including community kitchens, poverty, and comorbid disorders.

My supervisor is Dr. Livingston.

In my spare time, I like to be outside, read fiction, or watch thrillers.