Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty


Erin Adlakha

Erin Adlakha

Associate Professor, Chair
902-491-6582
erin.adlakha@smu.ca
SMU CV

Office: Science Building 418

PhD (2016) University of Ottawa

Research Interests: Hydrothermal ore deposits, mineral chemistry, trace elements, stable and radiogenic isotopes



Jacob Hanley

Jacob Hanley

Professor
902-491-6334
jacob.hanley@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 414

PhD (2005) University of Toronto

FSEG (Fellow of Society of Economic Geologists)

Research Interests: Mineral deposits, geochemistry, fluid and melt inclusion microanalysis, archaeometallurgy

Mineral Exploration and Ore Fluids Laboratory


Pierre Jutras

Professor
902-420-5749
pierre.jutras@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 409

Ph.D. (2001) Université du Québec à Montréal

Research Interests: Sedimentology, stratigraphy, structural geomorphology, Lower Carboniferous tectonostratigraphy of the Maritimes Basin

Bibliography


Andrew MacRae

Assistant Professor
902-491-8657
andrew.macrae@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 412



Picture of faculty

Todd Ventura

Associate Professor
902-420-5138
todd.ventura@smu.ca
SMU CV

 

Tier II Canada Research Chair in Petroleum Systems Geochemistry and Reservoir Characterization

Office: Science Building 423

Organic Geochemistry Lab



Dr. Shawna White

Shawna White

Assistant Professor
Email: shawna.white@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 400A 

PhD (2018) University of Alberta 

Research Interests: Structural geology and tectonics, basin evolution, orogenic processes, and geochronology. Evolution of the Appalachian Orogen and eastern Laurentian margin, structural inheritance in orogenic belts, fault reactivation, and statistical approaches to understanding “big” geological data. 



Randolph Corney

Randolph Corney

Lecturer
902-420-5184
randolph.corney@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 433

 

 

 


Part-Time Faculty

Jeremy Bentley

Part-time Instructor
jeremy.bentley@smu.ca

 

Office: Science Building 402



Picture of faculty

John Calder

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
john.calder1@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

PhD (1991) Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Geoheritage, World Heritage and Geoparks; paleontology and paleoecology; sedimentology; climate change


Howard Donohoe

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
howard.donohoe@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

PhD (1978) University of New Brunswick

Research Interests: Science and geology outreach to the public; deformation in rocks; volcanic deposits; geological investigations of SE New Brunswick, Cobequid Mountains, NS, and Fogo Island, NL; and the pedagogy of teaching and learning.



Mitchell Kerr

Mitchell Kerr

Part-time Instructor, Staff
902-491-6638
mitchell.kerr@smu.ca

Department Technician

Office: Science Building 425

PhD (2019) Laurentian University

Research Interests: Hydrothermal ore-forming systems, Fluid inclusion geochemistry, Meguma gold deposits, Science education and outreach


Robert Ryan

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
Robert.Ryan1@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401


Colin Walker

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
colin.walker@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

MSc (2002) University of Waterloo, PGeo, FGC 

Research Interests: Municipal groundwater supply; numerical odelling and source water protection; subdivision developments in HRM that rely on private water wells and on-site sewage disposal systems; groundwater use in the Annapolis Valley


Post-Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Unyime Umoh

unyime.umoh@smu.ca

Post-doctoral Fellow

Office: Science Building 402


Adjunct Faculty


department profile image

Dawn Kellett

Adjunct Professor
Email: dawn.kellett@canada.ca

PhD (2010) Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Deformation and exhumation in orogens, and the spatio-temporal scales at which they occur, by integrating field-based structural mapping and observations with a wide range of structural, metamorphic and geochronological methods; the development and application of petrochronological and thermochronological methods for dating faults and shear zones; my interests largely fall under the umbrella of tectonics and structural geology, but also include metamorphic petrology, ore deposits and basin evolution.



Picture of faculty

David Piper

Adjunct Professor

PhD (1969) Cambridge University

Research Interests: Marine Quaternary geology; turbidity currents and submarine landslides; neotectonics, sedimentation and ancient analogues; geology of the Cliffs of Fundy Geopark.

 

 


Staff

Department Secretary

Secretary
902-420-5746
geology@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 407



Mitchell Kerr

Mitchell Kerr

Part-time Instructor, Staff
902-491-6638
mitchell.kerr@smu.ca

Department Technician

Office: Science Building 425

PhD (2019) Laurentian University

Research Interests: Hydrothermal ore-forming systems, Fluid inclusion geochemistry, Meguma gold deposits, Science education and outreach


Jeremy Bentley

Staff
jeremy.bentley@smu.ca

Technical Staff

Office: Science Building 401

MSc (2020) Saint Mary's University

 


Emeritus Professors


Picture of faculty

Jarda Dostal

Professor Emeritus
902-420-5747
jarda.dostal@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 416

PhD (1974) McMaster University

Research Interests: Geochemistry, igneous petrology, geodynamics, rare metal deposits

Bibliography



Georgia Pe-Piper

Georgia Pe-Piper

Professor Emeritus
902-420-5744
gpiper@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 438

Bibliography