Sobey School of Business > About Sobey > News > Team Competes in CFA Regionals in NYC

Saint Mary’s Students to Compete in CFA Institute Research Challenge Regional Competition in NYC

Date Published: April 18, 2019


Team Among 56 Advancing in the Americas region from a field of 427

Over 6,100 students from 1,150 universities participate worldwide

Saint Mary’s University students on the Sobey School Impact Fund team are already making their mark in the investment management profession. Having won the local round of the CFA Institute Research Challenge, an annual global competition that provides graduate and undergraduate students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis, they will progress to the Americas region finals on April 23rd and 24th in New York City. There the team will go head-to-head with 55 other winning teams from universities across the region for a chance to go through to the Global Final taking place the next day.

The team includes Ryan Sutherland, Charlotte Mawer, Jacob Wengel and Ryan Carmichael. They will be accompanied by industry mentor and Impact Fund Director, Ross Hallett.

“The CFA Institute Research Challenge is a rigorous global competition that tests students’ knowledge and application of investment management principles, ethics, and professional standards,” said Dean Harjeet Bhabra. “To be among the 56 teams moving on to the Regional Championships is an incredible honor for our students, and a testament to their hard work and commitment to the competition and the pursuit of careers in the investment management profession.”

The top two teams from the Americas Final will advance to the Global Final. There they will compete against finalists from Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and the Asia Pacific region. CFA Institute will livestream the Americas Final* and Global Finals so friends and family can watch live from wherever they live.

Watch Live!

Follow a live stream of the Americas Regional Final as well as the Global Finals in New York City to see who will be crowned global champion.

Tune in for a chance to see future talent of the investment profession compete in teams as they present to a panel of expert judges an analysis and buy/hold/sell recommendation of a publicly traded company.

Schedule of Events:

Americas Regional Final – Livestream from New York

24 April 2019 
4:30 pm New York time / 9:30 pm London time / 5:30 am Hong Kong time (+1 day)

Global Final – Livestream from New York

25 April 2019
3:00 pm New York time / 8:00 pm London time / 4:00 am Hong Kong time (+1 day)

Return to News Bulletin Listing