Faculty and Staff

Faculty & Staff

Pierre Jutras

Chair, Professor
902-420-5749
pierre.jutras@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 409

Ph.D. (2001) Université du Québec à Montréal

Research Interests: Sedimentology, stratigraphy, structural geomorphology, Lower Carboniferous tectonostratigraphy of the Maritimes Basin

Bibliography


Tara Inman

Secretary
902-420-5746
geology@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 407



Erin Adlakha

Erin Adlakha

Assistant Professor
902-491-6582
erin.adlakha@smu.ca
SMU CV

Office: Science Building 418

PhD (2016) University of Ottawa

Research Interests: Hydrothermal ore deposits, mineral chemistry, trace elements, stable and radiogenic isotopes



Jacob Hanley

Jacob Hanley

Professor
902-491-6334
jacob.hanley@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 414

PhD (2005) University of Toronto

FSEG (Fellow of Society of Economic Geologists)

Research Interests: Mineral deposits, geochemistry, fluid and melt inclusion microanalysis, archaeometallurgy

Mineral Exploration and Ore Fluids Laboratory


Andrew MacRae

Assistant Professor
902-491-8657
andrew.macrae@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 412


Todd Ventura

Associate Professor
902-420-5138
todd.ventura@smu.ca
SMU CV

Tier II Canada Research Chair in Petroleum Systems Geochemistry and Reservoir Characterization

Office: Science Building 423

Organic Geochemistry Lab


Shawna White

Assistant Professor
Email: shawna.white@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 400A


Jarda Dostal

Professor Emeritus
902-420-5747
jarda.dostal@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 416

PhD (1974) McMaster University

Research Interests: Geochemistry, igneous petrology, geodynamics, rare metal deposits

Bibliography



Georgia Pe-Piper

Georgia Pe-Piper

Professor Emeritus
902-420-5744
gpiper@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 438

Bibliography



Randolph Corney

Randolph Corney

Lecturer
902-420-5184
randolph.corney@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 433



Mitchell Kerr

Mitchell Kerr

Part-time Instructor, Staff
902-491-6638
mitchell.kerr@smu.ca

Department Technician

Office: Science Building 425

PhD (2019) Laurentian University

Research Interests: Hydrothermal ore-forming systems, Fluid inclusion geochemistry, Meguma gold deposits


Fergus Tweedale

Staff
902-491-6440
fergus.tweedale@smu.ca

Technical Staff

Office: Science Building 401

MSc (2019) Saint Mary's University

Research Interests: Meguma Zone fluid inclusions; Canadian Cordillera melt inclusions


John Calder

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
john.calder1@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

PhD (1991) Dalhousie University

Research Interests: Geoheritage, World Heritage and Geoparks; paleontology and paleoecology; sedimentology; climate change


Howard Donohoe

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
howard.donohoe@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

PhD (1978) University of New Brunswick

Research Interests: Science and geology outreach to the public; deformation in rocks; volcanic deposits; geological investigations of SE New Brunswick, Cobequid Mountains, NS, and Fogo Island, NL; and the pedagogy of teaching and learning.


Robert Ryan

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
robert.ryan@novascotia.ca

Office: Science Building 401


Colin Walker

Part-time Instructor
902-420-5725
colin.walker@smu.ca

Office: Science Building 401

MSc (2002) University of Waterloo, PGeo, FGC 

Research Interests: Municipal groundwater supply; numerical odelling and source water protection; subdivision developments in HRM that rely on private water wells and on-site sewage disposal systems; groundwater use in the Annapolis Valley


Dr. Engy Ahmed

902-491-6574
engy.ahmed@smu.ca

Post-doctoral Fellow

Office: Science Building 401


David Piper

Adjunct Professor

PhD (1969) Cambridge University

Research Interests: Marine Quaternary geology; turbidity currents and submarine landslides; neotectonics, sedimentation and ancient analogues; geology of the Cliffs of Fundy Geopark.


Share: Page Feedback