Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

(photo courtesy Danielle Boudreau)

Full-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Postdocs
Staff
Grad Students
Full-Time Faculty
Name Position Web Site/Email
Roby Austin Associate Professor, Acting Associate Dean of Science - Student Affairs Contact
Gregory Christian Assistant Professor Contact
David Clarke Professor Contact 
Ivana Damjanov Tier II Canada Research Chair, Assistant Professor Ivana.Damjanov@smu.ca
Robert Deupree Professor Emeritus  
Luigi Gallo Professor, Undergraduate & Graduate Program Coordinator Contact
David Guenther Professor Emeritus Contact
Vincent Henault-Brunet Assistant Professor Contact
Rituparna Kanungo Professor Contact
George Mitchell Professor Emeritus Contact
Adam Sarty Dean of Graduate Studies and Research; Associate Vice-President Research adam.sarty@smu.ca
Marcin Sawicki ICA Director, Tier I Canada Research Chair, Professor Contact
Ian Short Department Chair, Professor Contact
Rob Thacker Professor Contact
David Turner Professor Emeritus Contact
Gary Welch Professor Emeritus Contact
Aldona Wiacek Associate Professor; cross-appointment with  Environmental Science (ENVS) Contact

 

Part-Time Faculty
Name Position Contact
Jodi Asbell-Clarke Part-time Instructor jodi_asbell-clarke@terc.edu
Phil Bennett Part-time instructor pbennett@ap.smu.ca
Kevin Brown Part-time Instructor kbrown@ap.smu.ca
Richard Cisek Part-time Instructor Richard.cisek@smu.ca
John Gallant Part-time Instructor jgoahl@gmail.com
Patrick Kelly Part-time Instructor patrick.kelly@dal.ca
Shahideh Kiehbadroudinezhad Part-time Instructor shahideh.kiehbadroudinezhad@smu.ca 
Doug Pitcairn Part-time Instructor douglas.pitcairn@smu.ca
Cameron Reed Part-time Instructor creed@ap.smu.ca
Shruti Tripathi Part-time Instructor shruti.tripathi@smu.ca 
Laura Stiles-Clarke Part-time Instructor lsclarke@ap.smu.ca
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Contact
Friedhelm Ames Adjunct Professor ames@triumf.ca
Phil Bennett Adjunct Professor pbennett@ap.smu.ca
Scott C. Chapman Adjunct Professor scott.chapman@dal.ca
Postdocs
Name Position Contact
Dr. Gael Noirot Studies of galaxy formation and evolution  Gael.noirot@smu.ca
Nick Martis Studies of galaxy formation and evolution  nmartis@ap.smu.ca
Dr. Johannes Zabl    
Dr. Shruti Tripathi Observational studies of supermassive black holes  shruti.tripathi@smu.ca 

 

Staff
Name Position Contact
Shannon Rhode Secretary - Astronomy/Physics Contact
Dave Lane Director, Burke-Gaffney Observatory and Systems Administrator, Astronomy & Physics Contact
Michael Dunlavy Science Technician - Physics mdunlavy@ap.smu.ca
Stephen Condran Research Computing Support Expert stephen.condran@gmail.com
Dr. Sergiy Khan ACENET Computational Research Consultant sergiy.khan@ace-net.ca
Phil Romkey ACENET Systems Administrator phil.romkey@ace-net.ca
Graduate Students
Name Position Contact
Margaret Buhariwalla M.Sc. candidate  
Mathieu Cavenaile Applied Science Program mathieu.cavenaile@smu.ca
Lingjian (Lejay) Chen Ph.D. candidate lchen@ap.smu.ca
Angelo George Ph.D. candidate angelo.george@smu.ca
Adam Gonzalez Ph.D. candidate agonzalez@ap.smu.ca
Martin Hellmich M.Sc. candidate  
Kamalpreet Kaur M.Sc. candidate  
Mukhwinder Singh Applied Science Program mukhwinder.singh@smu.ca
Pranav Subramaniyam Applied Science Program pranav.subramaniyam@smu.ca
Orry Workman Applied Science Program oworkman@ap.smu.ca

 

(photo courtesy Danielle Boudreau)

                  Astronomy & Applied Science graduate students 2019-2020:

                  Back row: A. George, P. Mungara, D. Blue, O. Workman, M. Hellmich

                  Front row: P. Jassal, A. Gonzalez, L. Chen, M. Buhariwalla, K. Kaur,

                  Missing: M. Cavenaile, M. Singh, P. Subramaniyam

 

Share: Page Feedback