Faculty of Science

Program Advisors

The Faculty of Science has a variety of academic advisors who can answer questions about all aspects of your degree, including course selection and research interests.

Undergraduate Science Advisors
Undergraduate Science Advisors at the Science Advising Centre can answer questions about all undergraduate science degree programs or departments. They are a great resource for helping you choose courses, as well as understand degree and/or honours program requirements.

Program Advisors
Each academic program has a designated advisor that can provide individualized advice, including courses and requirements. Once students have declared their major, they should meet with their respective program's advisor.

Engineering Diploma Advisors
Engineering Diploma Advisors are specifically designated for engineering students; they can help answer questions about courses, requirements, transfer into the 3rd/ 4th year program, and the diploma program in general.

Graduate Program Advisors
These advisors are available to assist prospective and current science graduate students in the following programs:


Science Program Advisors

Astrophysics and Physics

Dr. Luigi Gallo
Undergraduate Advisor
Atrium 319 C
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5637
lgallo@ap.smu.ca


Biology

Dr. David Dansereau
Biology Advisor
Science 346
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5529
david.dansereau@smu.ca


Chemistry

Dr. Robert Singer
Department Chair/ Program Advisor
Science 522
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-496-8189
robert.singer@smu.ca


Computing Science / Computing Science & Business Administration

Dr. Paul Muir
McNally North 125
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-420-5794
muir@smu.ca


Engineering

Donald MacNeil
Division Director/ Program Advisor
McNally Main 304 B
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5266
advisor.engineering@smu.ca


Environmental Science

Dr. Jason Clyburne
Program Advisor/ Department Chair
Science 208
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5827
jason.clyburne@smu.ca


Forensic Science

Dr. Tim Frasier
Science 327
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-491-6382
forensics@smu.ca


Geography

Dr. Danika van Proosdij
Program Advisor/ Department Chair
Burke 108
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-420-5738
dvanproo@smu.ca


Geology

Dr. Jacob Hanley
Program Advisor
Science 414
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-491-6334
jacob.hanley@smu.ca


Mathematics

Dr. Mitja Mastnak
Mathematics Advisor
McNally North 124
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5783
mmastnak@smu.ca


B.Sc. Psychology

Dr. Julie Quinn
McNally South 319
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-420-5860
psych.advisor@smu.ca


M.Sc. Applied Science & Ph.D in Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Dr. Lori Francis
McNally South 312
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-420-5846
lori.francis@smu.ca


M.Sc. Applied Science

Dr. Samuel Veres
M.Sc. Applied Science Coordinator/Advisor
McNally Main 304-A
Hours: By appointment
Phone: 902-420-5697
sam.veres@smu.ca


M.Sc. & Ph.D Astronomy

Dr. Rob Thacker
Atrium 319F
Graduate Program Coordinator/Advisor
Hours: Monday, Wednesday & Friday 8:30 - 11:30 am
Phone: 902-420-5832
dguenther@ap.smu.ca


M.Sc. in Computing & Data Analytics

Dr. Pawan Lingras
Program Coordinator/Advisor
McNally North 107
Hours: Tuesday 12:45 - 4:30 pm; Wednesday (online) 4:30 - 6:00 pm ; Thursday: 12:45 - 1:30 pm
Phone: 902-420-5798
pawan@cs.smu.ca


Certificate in the Mathematical Sciences for Education

Dr. Robert Dawson
McNally North 105
Hours: By Appointment
Phone: 902-420-5796
robert.dawson@smu.ca