Geography and Environmental Studies

Faculty and Staff

Danika van Proosdij 
Geography and Environmental Studies
Chair and Professor of Geography 
902-420-5738 
dvanproo@smu.ca

Cassie MacDonald
Geography and Environmental Studies
Secretary
902-420-5737
geography@smu.ca

Cathy Conrad
Geography and Environmental Studies
BES Coordinator
Professor
902-420-5686
cconrad@smu.ca

Philip Giles 
Geography and Environmental Studies
Honours Coordinator
Associate Professor
902-420-5740
philip.giles@smu.ca

Jason Grek Martin
Geography and Environmental Studies
Assistant Professor
902-420-5741
jason.grekmartin@smu.ca

Hugh A. Millward
Geography and Environmental Studies
Professor
902-420-5739
hugh.millward@smu.ca

Mathew Novak
Geography and Environmental Studies
MA Coordinator
Assistant Professor
902-491-6541
m.novak@smu.ca

Cristian Suteanu 
Geography and Environmental Studies
Associate Professor
902-420-5731
cristian.suteanu@smu.ca

Kevin Hamdan
Geography and Environmental Studies
Sessional Instructor
Assistant Professor
902-420-5736
kevin.hamdan@smu.ca

Amy Siciliano
Geography and Environmental Studies
Sessional Instructor
Assistant Professor
902-491-6600
amy.siciliano@smu.ca

Trevor Adams
Geography and Environmental Studies
Part-time Instructor
trevor.adams@smu.ca

Adam Fancy
Geography and Environmental Studies
Part-time Instructor
adam.fancy@smu.ca

David Hopper
Geography and Environmental Studies
Part-time Instructor
902-420-5142
david.hopper@smu.ca

Kyle McKenzie
Geography and Environmental Studies
Part-time Instructor
902-420-5142
kyle.mckenzie@smu.ca

Emily Thomas
Geography and Environmental Studies
Part-time Instructor
Emily.thomas1@smu.ca

Thomas Bouman
Geography and Environmental Studies
Adjunct Professor
thomas_bourman@cbu.ca

Peter Bush
Geography and Environmental Studies
Adjunct Professor 
902-420-5737
petergbush@yahoo.ca

Michael Fox
Geography and Environmental Studies
Adjunct Professor
mfox@mta.ca

Ryan Gibson
Geography and Environmental Studies
Adjunct Professor
ryan.gibson@smu.ca

Jamie Spinney
Geography and Environmental Studies
Adjunct Professor
jamie.spinney@smu.ca

Greg Baker
Geography and Environmental Studies
Research Instrument Technician
902-420-5472
greg.baker@smu.ca

Will Flanagan
Geography and Environmental Studies
Cartographer/Map Librarian
902-420-5742
will.flanagan@smu.ca

Emma Wattie
Geography and Environmental Studies
Community Based Environmental Monitoring
902-491-6243
environmental.network@smu.ca