Department of Geography and Environmental Studies

Faculty and Staff

 

Full-time Faculty

 

D. van Proosdij (Chair)
D. Gauthier
C. Conrad
P. Giles
J. Grek-Martin
M. Kwak
H. Millward
M. Novak
C. Suteanu

 

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

T. Bouman
P. Bush
M. Fox
R. Gibson
K. Hamdan
K. Harper
J. Spinney

Part-time Faculty

 

T. Adams
J. Bambrick-Banks
M. Kerr
A. Siciliano

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

R. McCalla
D. Day

Staff

 

G. Baker
W. Flanagan
C. MacDonald
E. Wattie

Full-time Faculty


 

GFTFImage1

Cathy Conrad 
Professor 

 

PhD (Wilfrid Laurier, 1999) 

 

  • Community-based environmental monitoring

  • Water quality and watershed management

  • Perceptions of climate change and environmental change

  • Sub-Saharan Africa: Clandestine migration


SMU-CV Faculty Profile

The Community-Based Environmental Monitoring Network 

 

Email: cconrad@smu.ca
902-420-5686
Office: Burke 204B



David Gauthier 

David Gauthier 
Professor

 

PhD (Waterloo)                                       

  • Ecosystem management
  • Parks and protected areas
  • Resource management

Email: david.gauthier@smu.ca
902-420-5260
Office: Burke 200A



 


GFTFImage2

Philip Giles 
Associate Professor 
Honours Coordinator

 

PhD (Calgary, 1996) 

  • Morphology of alluvial fans

  • Morphometric analysis of digital elevation models

  • Analysis of remotely-sensed images for geomorphological interpretation


SMU-CV Faculty Profile

Email: philip.giles@smu.ca
902-420-5740
Office: Burke 100



GFTFImage3

Jason Grek Martin
Assistant Professor 
Acting BES Coordinator

PhD (Queen's, 2009)

  • Historical and cultural geographies of tourism in Nova Scotia and beyond

  • Nature, place, and meaning in Halifax parks

  • Survey science and statecraft in the 19th-century Canadian West

SMU-CV Faculty Profile

 

Email: jason.grekmartin@smu.ca
902-420-5741
Office: Burke 107



Min-Jung Kwak faculty photo
 

Min-Jung Kwak
Assistant Professor

PhD (University of BC)                      

  • Globalization and transnational migration
  • International education industry
  • Immigrant entrepreneurship
  • Immigrant health care services

Email:    min-jung.kwak@smu.ca
902-420-5736

Office: Burke 101


 

 


GFTFImage5

Hugh A. Millward 
Professor 

 

PhD (Western Ontario, 1975)

  • Time and location of urban walking activity

  • Land-use issues in urban and peri-urban areas

  • School siting and travel-to-school

SMU-CV Faculty Profile


Email: hugh.millward@smu.ca
902-420-5739
Office: Burke 313




Mat Novak profile pic 

Mathew Novak
Assistant Professor
GES Graduate Coordinator

 

PhD (Western Ontario, 2010)

  • Urban planning & development

  • Retail geography

  • The built environment/urban morphology


Website

Email: m.novak@smu.ca
902-491-6541
Office: Burke 200F



Cristian Suteanu faculty photo

A. Cristian Suteanu 
Associate Professor

 

PhD (Bucharest, 1997) 

  • Environmental system analysis and modeling: climate variability, natural hazards, renewable energy

  • Information processes in environmental systems

 

SMU-CV Faculty Profile

Website 


Email: cristian.suteanu@smu.ca
902-420-5731
Office: Burke 106



GFTFImage7

Danika van Proosdij, Chairperson
Professor and Chair of Geography and Environmental Studies

PhD (University of Guelph, 2001) 

  • Coastal climate change vulnerability assessment and adaptation

  • Coastal geomorphology and morphodynamics

  • Ecosystem based restoration

  • Saltmarsh biophysical processes

  • Geomatics and UAVs


SMU-CV Faculty Profile

Email: dvanproo@smu.ca
902-420-5738
Office: Burke 108



Adjunct Faculty


 
Thomas Bouman  

Thomas Bouman
PhD (Göttingen)                                             

 

  • Sustainable agriculture: soil organic matter and nutrients in perennial pasture

  • Sustainable forestry: tree diversity in forests; advance regeneration of tree species; willow short rotation coppice; soil acidification, soil amelioration

  • Participatory development of agriculture and forestry

 

Email: thomas_bouman@cbu.ca



Peter Bush profile image 

Peter Bush
PhD (Western Ontario)                             

 

  • Landscape ecology
  • Old-growth forests
  • Geomatics
  • Protected areas

 

Email: petergbush@yahoo.ca



Mike Fox Profile image 

Michael Fox
PhD (McGill)

 

  • University-Community relations
  • Transportation issues
  • Geographic education
  • Community-based planning 

 

Email: mfox@mta.ca



 

 

Ryan Gibson 
PhD (Memorial)

  • Economic geography
  • Rural and regional development
  • Philanthropy
  • Governance

 

 

Personal Website 

 

Rural and Regional Development Lab

 

Email: ryan.gibson@smu.ca

 



 


Kevin Hamdan 

Kevin Hamdan
PhD (Simon Fraser University, 2012) 

  • Forest Soils and Ecology
  • Climate Change
  • Sustainability

Email: kevin.hamdan@smu.ca
902-420-5736




‌‌
Karen Harper Profile image

Karen Harper
PhD (University of Alberta, 1999)

  • Plant biogeography
  • Landscape ecology
  • Forest edges, fragmentation and conservation
  • Spatial pattern and structural diversity of plant communities

 

Website

Email: karen.harper@smu.ca
902-420-5142
Office: B 204A

 



Jamie Spinney

Jamie Spinney
PhD (McMaster)                    

 

  • Sustainable and healthy communities 
  • Active aging and age-friendly communities 
  • Active transportation and the journey to school

 

Email: jamie.spinney@smu.ca


Part-time Faculty


Office: Burke 204A*
Phone: 902.420.5142
Department Office: 902.420.5737
Fax: 902.496.8213

*Unless otherwise noted. When PT faculty are not teaching in an academic term, they do not hold an office on campus. You may reach them via the email links below or contact geography@smu.ca. 


 
Trevor Adams

Trevor Adams
EdD (Calgary, 2013)

  • Weather and Climate
  • Natural Hazards
  • Global Perspectives
  • Geography of Canada
  • Urban Geography
  • Biography

Email: trevor.adams@smu.ca
813-563-2224
Office: Virtual

 

 




Jillian Bambrick Banks photo 

Jillian Bambrick-Banks
PhD (Louisiana State, 2016)

  • Human-Environment Interaction
  • Climate Change
  • Holocene Sedimentation and Palynology
  • Quaternary Environments

 

Email: Jill.Banks@smu.ca
902-420-5142
Office: B 204 A


 

 
 

Mitchell Kerr
PhD Candidate (Laurentian)
MSc Geology (Saint Mary's University, 2013)

 

Email: Mitchell.Kerr@smu.ca
902-420-5748
Office: S 402



 


Amy Siciliano profile 

Amy Siciliano
PhD (University of Toronto, 2010)

  • Intersection of urban and natural systems
  • Post-war suburbs
  • Social geography
  • Critical cartography

Email: amy.siciliano@smu.ca
902-491-6600
Office: B 204A


Department Cartographer & Lab Technician



Greg Baker photo faculty page 

Greg Baker - Research Instrument Technician 

B.A. (Saint Mary's University, 2004)
Dip. Digital Cartography (COGS, 2001)

 

  • Geographic Information Systems
  • Surveying
  • Cartography
  • Photogrammetry


Email: greg.baker@smu.ca
Phone: 902-420-5472
Office: Burke 215


 

Will Flanagan - Cartographer & Lab Technician

Email: will.flanagan@smu.ca
Phone: 902-420-5742
Office: Burke 200E

 


Department Secretary


 


Cassie profile 

Cassie MacDonald

 

Email: geography@smu.ca
902-420-5737
Office: Burke 109


Professor Emeritus


 


Dr. Robert J. McCalla 

Robert J. McCalla, 
Professor of Geography 
Ph.D. (Hull, 1975)

 

  • Economic 
  • Transportation 
  • Ports 
  • Shipping

 

Email




Douglas Day 

Douglas Day 
Professor of Geography 
Ph.D. (Sheffield, 1965)

 

  • Fisheries 
  • Oceans 
  • Cartography