Department of Astronomy & Physics

Faculty and Staff

(photo courtesy D. Guenther)

Full-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Postdocs
Staff
Grad Students
Full-Time Faculty
Name Position Web Site/Email
Roby Austin Associate Professor Contact
David Clarke Professor Contact 
Ivana Damjanov Assistant Professor Ivana.Damjanov (at) smu.ca
Robert Deupree Professor Emeritus Contact
Luigi Gallo Professor Contact
David Guenther Professor Emeritus Contact
Rituparna Kanungo Professor Contact
George Mitchell Professor Emeritus Contact
Adam Sarty Dean of Graduate Studies and Research; Associate Vice-President Research adam.sarty(at) smu.ca
Marcin Sawicki Tier I Canada Research Chair, Professor Contact
Ian Short Acting Department Chair, (1 July 2017-30 June 2018), Professor Contact
Rob Thacker Professor, ICA Acting Director, Graduate Program Coordinator Contact
David Turner Professor Emeritus Contact
Gary Welch Professor Emeritus Contact
Aldona Wiacek Assistant Professor; cross-appointment with  Environmental Science (ENVS) Contact

 

Part-Time Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Jodi Asbell-Clarke Part-time Instructor jodi_asbell-clarke@terc.edu
Phil Bennett Part-time instructor pbennett
Kevin Brown Part-time Instructor kbrown
Richard Cisek Part-time Instructor Richard.cisek@smu.ca
John Gallant Part-time Instructor jgoahl@gmail.com
Anneya Golob Part-time Instructor agolob
Patrick Kelly Part-time Instructor patrick.kelly@dal.ca
Dan Majaess Part-time Instructor dmajaess
Doug Pitcairn Part-time Instructor douglas.pitcairn@smu.ca
Laura Stiles-Clarke Part-time Instructor lsclarke
Shruti Tripathi Part-time Instructor Shruti.Tripathi at smu.ca
Adjunct Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Friedhelm Ames Adjunct Professor ames@triumf.ca
Phil Bennett Adjunct Professor pbennett
Scott C. Chapman Adjunct Professor scott.chapman@dal.ca
Catherine Lovekin Adjunct Professor clovekin@mta.ca

 

Postdocs and Research Associates
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Soumya Bagchi Post Doctorial Fellow S.Bagchi@gsi.de
Matthias Holl Post Doctorial Fellow mholl@triumf.ca
Dan Majaess Post Doctorial Fellow dmajaess
Thibaud Moutard Post Doctorial Fellow tmoutard
Shruti Tripathi Post Doctorial Fellow Shruti.Tripathi at smu.ca
Staff
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Florence Woolaver Secretary - Astronomy/Physics fwoolaver
Dave Lane Director, Burke-Gaffney Observatory and Systems Administrator, Astronomy & Physics Contact
Michael Dunlavy Science Technician - Physics mdunlavy
Dr. Sergiy Khan ACENET Computational Research Consultant sergiy.khan at ace-net.ca
Phil Romkey ACENET  phil.romkey at ace-net.ca
Graduate Students
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Liz Arcila-Osejo Ph.D. candidate losejo
Kirsten Bonson Ph.D. candidate kbonson
Gurpreet Kaur Cheema M.Sc. candidate gcheema
Lingjian (Lejay) Chen M.Sc. candidate lchen
Daniel Cunningham   M.Sc. candidate dcunningham
Hannah Ehler M.Sc. candidate hehler
Tiffany Fields M.Sc. candidate tfields
Anneya Golob Ph.D. candidate agolob
Adam Gonzalez M.Sc. candidate agonzalez
Preetinder Kaur Jassal Ph.D. candidate pjassal
Satbir Kaur Ph.D. candidate (Dalhousie) skaur
Jaspreet Singh Randhawa Ph.D. candidate randhawa
Nathalie Thibert M.Sc. candidate nthibert
Mitchell Young Ph.D. candidate myoung

 
Astronomy and Physics Graduates

 Astronomy graduate students 2007: D. Majaess, C. Lovekin, N. MacDonald, G. Geroux, J. Ramsey, B. Sorba, D. Williamson, K. Moncrieff, M. Casey (photo courtesy D. Guenther)