Astronomy & Physics

Faculty and Staff

Click on picture to see larger image (photo courtesy D. Guenther)

Full-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Postdocs
Staff
Grad Students

 

Full-Time Faculty
Name Position Contact
Roby Austin Associate Professor Contact
David Clarke Professor Contact
Robert Deupree Professor, ICA Director, Tier I Canada Research Chair Contact
Luigi Gallo Associate Professor Contact - on sabbatical
David Guenther Professor Contact
Rituparna Kanungo Associate Professor Contact
George Mitchell Professor Emeritus Contact
Adam Sarty Professor Contact
Marcin Sawicki Professor Contact
Ian Short Associate Professor Contact
Rob Thacker Department Chair, Professor, Department Chair, Tier II Canada Research Chair Contact
David Turner Professor Emeritus Contact
Gary Welch Professor Emeritus Contact
Aldona Wiacek Assistant Professor; cross-appointment with  Environmental Science (ENVS) Contact
Part-Time Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Jodi Asbell-Clarke Part-time Instructor jodi_asbell-clarke@terc.edu
Phil Bennett Part-time instructor pbennett
Kevin Brown Part-time Instructor kbrown
Michael Dunlavy Part-time Instructor mdunlavy
John Gallant Part-time Instructor jgoahl@gmail.com
Dan Majaess Part-time Instructor dmajaess@ns.sympatico.ca
Doug Pitcairn Part-time Instructor douglas.pitcairn@dal.ca
Laura Stiles-Clarke Part-time Instructor lsclarke
Adjunct Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Phil Bennett Adjunct Professor pbennett
Kamil Bradler Adjunct Professor kbradler
Jason T. Burke Adjunct Professor  
Scott C. Chapman Adjunct Professor scott.chapman@dal.ca
Louise Edwards Adjunct Professor ledwards@mta.ca
Postdocs and Research Associates
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Chia-Ying Chiang Postdoc cychiang
Alfredo Estrade Postdoc a.estrade@gsi.de
Jenna Hurry Research Assistant jhurry
Casey Lambert Postdoc clambert
Dan Majaess Postdoc dmajaess
Alisher Sanetullaev Postdoc sanetulla@triumf.ca
Dan Wilkins CITA National Fellow drw
Staff
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Florence Woolaver Secretary - Astronomy/Physics fwoolaver
Dave Lane

Director, Burke-Gaffney Observatoryand Systems Administrator, Astronomy & Physics

dlane
Michael Dunlavy Science Technician - Physics mdunlavy
Graduate Students
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Ghazaleh Amanadan M.Sc. (applied physics) candiate gamanadan
Liz Arcila-Osejo Ph.D. candidate losejo
Jennifer Beanlands M.Sc. candidate jbeanlands
Kirsten Bonson Ph.D. candidate kbonson
Diego Castaneda Ph.D. candidate castaned
Anneya Golob M.Sc. candidate agolob
Maan Hani M.Sc. candidate mhani
Amit Kumar M.Sc. (applied physics) candiate akumar
Samantha Pillsworth M.Sc. candidate spillsworth
Jaspreet Randhawa Ph.D. candidate randhawa
Bobby Sorba Ph.D. candidate rsorba
Mitchell Young Ph.D. candidate myoung


Astronomy and Physics Graduates

Astronomy graduate students 2007: D. Majaess, C. Lovekin, N. MacDonald, G. Geroux, J. Ramsey, B. Sorba, D. Williamson, K. Moncrieff, M. Casey (photo courtesy D. Guenther)