About Saint Mary's

Model UN delegation wins Distinguished Delegation Award

4 April, 2016

UN Delegation Team 2016
First row: Alex Isnor, Thomas Lee, and Wes Wilcox
Second row: Alicia Archibald, Syndey Hull, Matt Gaull, Zhara Dhubow, Thoko Sithole, and Jermaine Addo
Third row: Tariro Dheka, Sarah Gray, Steph Albert, Franziska Storz, and Sandra Möbius
Fourth row: Thomas Redden, Thomas Martin, Mike Stone, Aaron Johnston, Justin Mathias, Philipp Steck, Philipp Zur, and John-Paul Nwaezigwe.

Adding to its record of success, Saint Mary’s University’s Model UN delegation won a Distinguished Delegation Award at the 2016 National Model United Nations (NMUN) Conference.

Held in New York March 27th to March 31st, the NMUN conference is the largest, and one of the oldest, Model UN simulations in the world. Some 5,500 students representing over 400 schools debated, negotiated, and drafted resolutions in simulated UN committees during two back-to-back conferences.

Representing Switzerland at Conference B, this year’s delegation included 18 students from Saint Mary’s and 4 students from Freiburg University of Education in Germany. The joint delegation, a first for Saint Mary’s, was headed by Dr. Marc Doucet of the Department of Political Science.

Students debated topics such as:

  • Strengthening the Capacity of Refugee Host Countries (UNHCR);
  • Improving Coordination of Humanitarian Assistance and Relief for Palestinian Refugees in Syria (UNRWA);
  • Building Resilient Cities to Promote Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction (HABITAT III);
  • Plastic Debris in the World's Oceans (UNEP);
  • Promoting Access to Renewable and Sustainable Energy for Poverty Reduction and Sustainable Development (General Assembly 2nd Committee);
  • The Threat of Transnational Organized Crime to International Security (General Assembly 1st Committee);
  • Adapting to Recent Developments in Small Arms and Light Weapons Technology (PoA SALW)

Saint Mary’s was one of only four Canadian universities to be awarded a Distinguished Delegation Award. Delegation awards are given in the Outstanding, Distinguished and Honourable Mention categories. In addition, two students, Wesley Wilcox and Thomas Lee, were awarded Outstanding Delegate Awards in recognition of their work in the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). While in New York, students also had an opportunity to meet with officials at Switzerland’s Permanent UN Mission in New York to discuss the Swiss position on UN related issues.

The Department of Political Science has offered POLI 4402 Model United Nations since 2004. The course offered by Dr. Doucet instructs students on how to research UN topics, develop country position papers, use UN rules of procedure, draft UN style resolutions and reports, and practice public speaking.

Model UN delegation wins Distinguished Delegation Award